Select Page

HOOSIER GROVE MUSEUM

Currently closed due to COVID-19.

HOOSIER GROVE MUSEUM

700 W. Irving Park Road
Streamwood, IL 60107

P: 630.213.9706

HOURS OF OPERATION

March – December
W: 11a.m. – 4p.m.
Sa:  9 – 11:30 a.m.

January – February
Closed

Group tours are also available by appointment.

HOLIDAY HOURS

CLOSED ALL HOLIDAYS

Come discover the Hoosier Grove Museum and connect with history.

The museum was built as a one-room schoolhouse in 1904 and served the residents of Hoosier Grove (now Streamwood) until 1954.

At the museum, you can explore the building, touch artifacts and learn about life in a one-room schoolhouse.

Fun Facts:

  • The Hoosier Grove Schoolhouse was built in 1904 on Schuenman’s Farm. A typical school day was from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.
  • The schoolhouse was not only a school, but was also used for elections, picnics, celebrations, and public meetings.
  • The schoolhouse was struck by lightning in 1907.
  • The schoolhouse was part of school district 43 1/2. The “1/2” being that half of the school was in Hanover Township, and the other half in Schaumburg Township.
  • When the schoolhouse closed in 1954, there still wasn’t any running water.

 

Interested in local history?

The Streamwood Historical Society assists with Hoosier Grove Museum-related programs and projects throughout the year. New members are always welcome. Meetings are held on the first Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the farmhouse, unless otherwise noted.

If interested in volunteering, but can’t make a meeting, please email us at
marketing@spdcares.com